All India Ophthalmological Society

memberorg_logo_indiaThe All India Ophthalmological Society (AIOS) was established in the year 1930. The objectives of the society are the cultivation and promotion of the study and practice of ophthalmic sciences, research and manpower development with a view to promote social contacts among ophthalmologists. The society organizes conferences every year in different parts of the country. The first conference was organized in 1930 in Mumbai, and the Golden Jubilee Conference was organized in 1992 in New Delhi. In these conferences, there is a mutual exchange of ideas and knowledge in the field of ophthalmology through scientific programs, symposia, seminars, workshops and hands-on courses called wet labs.

The society also provides incentives to members in the form of awards, orations and fellowships in recognition of their distinguished services in various ophthalmological subspecialties. The society has introduced the Life Time Achievement Award for senior eminent ophthalmologists, and young ophthalmologists are taking a greater interest in the affairs of the society. The society’s current membership is 16,700.

Dr. Ajit Babu Majji
Dr. Ajit Babu Majji
Term: 2018 – Present

Contact Information:
Prof. Namrata Sharma
Honorary General Secretary, All India Ophthalmological Society, Room No. 111, OPD Block
Dr. R.P. Centre, AIOS, All India Institute of Medical Sciences, Ansari Nagar, New Delhi-110029, India
Phone: +91-11-2658-8327
Fax: +91-11-2658-8919